You know what I hate? Grocery shopping.

Welcome to my new segment, “You know what I hate?” I’ll occasionally post blogs with this title when some part of the cooking process makes me want to give up and order pizza.

In today’s instalment of “You know what I hate?”, I would like to bitch about grocery shopping.

Little bit of back story: I only just got my driver’s license in August so before that, I had to make Jeff take me to the grocery store. He’d always complain about shopping so we’d only go once a week and I’d do a huge shop. Now that I have my license, I go a few times a week and get what I need for a couple days. Jeff has not done groceries since the summer (I’m sure he’s really upset about that *eye roll*).

Today I drove all over the city to 4 (FOUR!) different grocery stores looking for a ham roast. NOBODY had it. Apparently they were on sale last week. I looked at the time at 3pm and gave up because I no longer had time to cook it, even if I did find it.

I went to No Frills (a cheaper grocery store chain in Canada) first to get spices and pineapple slices, so I’m super happy I have enough dry mustard and whole cloves to last until the apocalypse but no ham to dress with them!!

When I got home, I thought about making lasagne but then I’d have to go out again and that wasn’t happening.

I decided to make Chicken Primavera again and laid down on the couch to have a nap. When Jeff walked in the door, I was just waking up. Guess what we did for dinner?

Ordered pizza.

Leave a comment